Sexuality in Long Distance Relationships

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to speak with a counselor who specializes in sexual assault. The program she spoke at was all about “college sex,” and participants were encouraged to ask questions. We talked about things like the difference between an STD and an STI, if “college sex” was different from regular sex or if it was just a stigma (FYI: it’s a stigma), and how many partners people normally have in college and in life.

At the end of the program, after many interesting and occasionally awkward conversations, I went up to speak to the counselor one-on-one, because I had a question that I knew didn’t pertain to the entire group, and knew would be easy to point back to me if I anonymously put it in the question box.

“I was just wondering what sort of things you hear about sexuality within long distance relationships,” I said, smiling to hide how nervous I was. I rarely bring up this topic for fear of being judged, even though I’ve read enough things online to know that this is a very normal part of LDRs and relationships in general. There’s even a Big Bang Theory episode about it.

Read more…

Leave a Reply

