Boy Meets Subtle Christian Undertones

Sean and I have been watching Boy Meets World from the very beginning through to the end recently. We’re somewhere in season 6 right now. For those of you who don’t know, Boy Meets World is a family-oriented sitcom that ran from 1993 to 2000. It followed Cory, Topanga, and Shawn from middle school all the way through to college, teaching general life lessons as the characters grew up.

Shawn, Topanga, Cory, and Eric

Something I’ve really noticed during this watch through is the Christian undertones of the show. In one episode, Shawn half joins a cult, and speaks to God at the end of the episode. In another, Eric asks God why he put a young boy in his life. In the most recent we’ve watched, Topanga walks in on Cory praying, and prays with him, thanking God for each other.

Shawn speaking to God after Mr. Turner’s accident

And, I have to say, I am really loving this aspect of the show. It’s something I never paid attention to before, but that I’m really enjoying. I think there’s something to be said for a show that teaches basic values, and touches on Christianity, without being pushy or obvious. And I feel like Boy Meets World did this really well.

That being said, I’m sad to say that this aspect of the show would undoubtedly not fly on television today, and probably won’t be retained in the sequel series, Girl Meets World.

The only thing I can’t figure out is why?

Why is Christianity so frowned up in television shows that aren’t labeled as “Christian”? Why is it offensive to see a character you love pray, or struggle with their faith?

I understand that not everyone is Christian, but I don’t think you have to be Christian to appreciate the struggle a character may have with faith, or the closeness two people can feel as a result of their shared faith.

And, since the show isn’t pushing Christianity, or even blatantly saying GOD IS REAL, what reason is there to be offended?

Leave a Reply

