Design Process – Wedding Program

Hey all! So, if you’re a regular reader, you undoubtedly noticed my 20 to 40 recent posts about graphic design 1 – a course I took last semester. I was posting about my progress through each project in the class, for an honors credit. Well, I really enjoyed that – being forced to post about my process made me much more aware of what I do as a designer, and it was also a lot of fun to share with people! Because of this, I’m going to start sharing project processes a little more often. Not for every piece I do, because that would be a little extensive, but just for the pieces I really enjoy or that took a little more effort.

That being said, today I will be sharing the wedding program I recently designed!

 

Jill asked me to design her wedding programs – she requested a mixture of traditional and non-traditional, something kind of classy. She also wanted it to fit the wedding’s “garden” theme. After some research, we narrowed the design down to something floral, like this:

To start off, I sketched some leafy-flowers; I attempted to copy the ones in the program above, to get me in the floral mood, and then I designed my own.

jills flowers

After sketching, I scanned them into the computer and began recreating them in Adobe Illustrator. I chose to use Illustrator because the pen tool smooths itself out for me, as well as because it would be easier to resize the leaves without them getting pixel-y. I also planned on compiling the program in Illustrator, so it just made sense to do everything else there as well.

This is what the outlines looked like. The top two are the leaves from the inspirational program, and the bottom two are the leaves I designed:

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.30.40 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-26 at 11.04.56 PM

Once I had the leaves laid out in a way that both Jill and I were happy with, all that was left was the information! Typography is one of my favorite things, so I really enjoyed this part of the program!

And here is the final program:

jillsprogram-fordisplay

I am really pleased with how well it turned out. Jill loved them, and received many compliments from her wedding guests. A woman working at the bed and breakfast they were wed in even asked for my contact information! Overall, designing this was an awesome experience πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

