Grids (Forest Of Signs)

The importance of grids in relation to this project comes from the idea of unity. Having a grid that is used in laying out each composition will help to unify the separate pieces into one related project.

grid1-blog         grid2-blog         grid3-blog

 

These are my three original ideas for grids. I chose to do one of them with a diagonal because I thought it would be unique. However, diagonals are a little complicated and harder to work with, so I ended up deciding not to use it. The third grid was simple a bar at the top and a bar at the left. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t anything special either.

The middle grid was a t-shape. Many comments I received in class supported this grid as opposed to the other two, calling it integrated and more flexible.

My professor also commented that I had good variety between the five examples of each grid.

The t-shape grid was my favorite when I was sketching them, so it was nice that it received positive feedback from the class.

Leave a Reply

