A Serious Post About Guns’n’Stuff

So, by now I’m sure many of you are aware of the Aurora, Colorado shootings that happened early this morning at the premiere of the new Batman movie.

As I explore twitter this morning, I find a lot of people saying this shooting should effect gun laws, and maybe now people will listen, and things like that.

I just wanted to take a moment to share my theory. My theory is that people easily get a hold of illegal substances on a regular basis, on all levels. Teens get alcohol even though they aren’t old enough to buy it, I know people who have bought illegal knives on the internet, people manage to get a hold of countless types of drugs every day.

Getting a hold of illegal substances isn’t as hard as really good people would like it to be.

Even if guns were entirely illegal, bad people would find a way to get them. There would still be shootings. The only difference is that good people who support the idea of owning a gun wouldn’t be able to defend themselves.

 

I’d like to hear your views! Do you disagree? Tell me I’m wrong, and why! Tell me if you agree with me, and why. I’d love to get a discussion going on this.

 

Relatedly, here’s a news blog post discussing the statistics of gun control views, and why the Aurora shootings probably won’t change those.

 

Peace, Love, and Safety,

Jax

Leave a Reply

