Finding Yourself

I don’t understand the concept of finding oneself, or searching for oneself.

 

A friend of mine told me today that he wants to go to Miami. Why? Because he’s “tried the Michigan thing over and over again with no luck.” He seems to think he’ll find himself if he goes to Miami. And if he doesn’t? Well, he’ll just go somewhere else. Until he finds himself.

 

The way I see it, you aren’t going to find yourself in Miami, or Houston, or LA because you’re in those place. Regardless of where you are, “yourself” is always going to be IN you. And when you find it, it won’t be because of where you are. I’m sure circumstance can effect it, but I don’t think vacationing on a beach really qualifies as circumstance.

 

I think part of my problem with the idea of “finding oneself” and “soul searching” is that I’ve always had a very strong grasp on who I am, what I want, where I’m going, my beliefs and morals, and so on. Since third grade I knew I wanted to make a living writing, since 7th grade I knew I wanted to do so in Chicago. I’ve always believed in relationships, not sleeping around, been against smoking, believed love is love regardless of your gender, and that a woman can do anything a man can do, so on and so forth.

I can’t even begin to list all of my beliefs and values and morals – there are a lot of them. But I believe them all firmly. That isn’t to say I couldn’t be swayed with a decent argument – despite my stubborness, I’m open to new thoughts and ideas – but, overall, I just have a very strong sense of self.

 

Honestly, my sense of self has always been something I’m really glad to have. I’m glad I don’t get depressed because there is a void inside me that I can’t fill because I don’t know why it’s there. I love that I know what I want with my life, that I don’t sit around with the other kids I’m at school with questioning my major and my life.

I mean. I long for new places and things and I have a serious case of wanderlust, but not because I’m searching for something. I want to travel because I just want to experience EVERYTHING.

 

What do you guys think? Do you know who you are? Is there someone you want to be? Are you working on finding yourself – and if so, how are you going about it?

Peace, Love, and Happiness in all things,
Jax

4 thoughts on “Finding Yourself

Leave a Reply

