Cognitive Dissonance is Why I’m Twitching

So, I was bad yesterday. I chose not to work out. But it’s okay, because (a) I was still so sore from the rest of the week (my muscles needed a break), and (b) I watched a documentary instead.

 

The documentary, The Purity Myth, was pretty interesting. It was about the idea that women are judged by their sexuality. Women are expected to be pure, chaste, while men…well, we don’t really talk about their purity. It talked about abstinence classes and how a lot of times they lie to high school girls to scare them out of having sex, giving them false numbers and stats in order to convince them contraceptives don’t work. Some even go so far as to tell girls that if they’re on the pill, they will die. It also discussed feminism, something I personally believe is given a bad rap. Most of the clips shown were from politicians and other media representatives, many of whom believe that women encourage sexism for attention, and that we need to be put in our place. A conservative woman spoke as well, saying “feminism gives women too many choices” and that those choices are “making us stressed.”

I don’t know about you, ladies, but I certainly don’t feel I have too many choices. Nothing about having options in my life is making me stressed. How about you?

Those people are also trying to have the violence against women act repealed, because clearly violence against women isn’t really that big of a problem?

These are the same people that don’t see birth control as related to women’s health, who call women who have sex before marriage sluts and whores, and some of them even go so far as to say you can’t be raped if you’re not a virgin.

 

Something else on this documentary that blew my mind was when people began calling the hpv vaccine, a shot that can protect a woman from contracting hpv AND helps prevent cervical cancer, a “promiscuity vaccine.” I know that when I got the hpv vaccine, at age 15, sex was one of the furthest things from my mind. My parents had decided I should get it, and all I knew was it could help save me from cancer in the future, which is a GOOD thing.

 

Honestly, there’s a lot more I’d love to say about this, but I think I’m going to wait, read the book the documentary was based on, and then probably do another post on it. But until then, I’d love to hear what you think!

 

 

On another note, I learned the term for when my body reacts physically to emotional stress today. I had been trying to figure it out earlier this week – a few conversations I’ve had left me feeling nauseous and slightly shaky.

It’s called cognitive dissonance. My professor described it as “what we feel when new information doesn’t fit with what we already know and feel.” This doesn’t just include your brain going “whut?” however – it extends into physical reactions – sleep patterns, appetite, that feeling in the pit of your stomach, heart rate, etc.  [it may also explain why the idea that my blog is practically under surveillance right now is making me a little twitchy xD]

 

Finally, a quick update on eeeeverything else: Sean started looking at internships for next year today. We’re hoping (I’m hoping, at least) that he’ll find one in Chicago – then he’ll only be a short train ride away fro a whole semester!! ^.^ It would be the best. I also turned in my application for an Orientation Leader position today. Hopefully that will pan out!

 

Now I’m off to bike for a bit. Need me some exercise before I take some vitamins and crawl into bed for…a movie night with Sean? I don’t know, I don’t think we’ve decided what we’re doing yet. [For all I know, we’ll end up reading The Great Gatsby].

 

Peace, Love, and Rest,

Jax

One thought on “Cognitive Dissonance is Why I’m Twitching

  1. “It talked about abstinence classes and how a lot of times they lie to high school girls to scare them out of having sex, giving them false numbers and stats in order to convince them contraceptives don’t work.”

    It is quite hard to find good sex ed. Emotional nonsense makes it so much harder.

    “Some even go so far as to tell girls that if they’re on the pill, they will die.”

    She certainly pushed the risk far beyond what is reasonable for emotional reasons.

    “I don’t know about you, ladies, but I certainly don’t feel I have too many choices. Nothing about having options in my life is making me stressed. How about you?”

    I dunno, there probably are some things. A lot of women prefer the old system where your parents helped you find a local lover. The modern system is stressful for most. The strain of finding and keeping a job is stressful for many, especially in today’s economy. Female happiness has gone sharply down in recent decades so there are some problems.

    “Those people are also trying to have the violence against women act repealed, because clearly violence against women isn’t really that big of a problem?”

    Reverse discrimination, where only one sex gets justice for a crime like domestic violence because of the past, that’s always gonna be controversial. A lot of people would prefer a violence against people act.

    It’s like how the vagina monologues is controversial for promoting het rape as bad rape and lesbian rape as good rape.

    As the thirteen year old girl said in that play “it might have been rape, but well, I say if it was rape, it was a good rape”

    “These are the same people that don’t see birth control as related to women’s health, who call women who have sex before marriage sluts and whores, and some of them even go so far as to say you can’t be raped if you’re not a virgin.”

    I’ve seen her examples. None are that good. There’s a politician commenting on the evolution of the definition of rape. There’s a politician describing a chaste person being raped (they can be raped too). There’s no one unambigously saying you can’t be raped if you’re not a virgin, likely because most people do care about women even if they’re promiscuous.

    “On another note, I learned the term for when my body reacts physically to emotional stress today. I had been trying to figure it out earlier this week – a few conversations I’ve had left me feeling nauseous and slightly shaky.

    It’s called cognitive dissonance. My professor described it as “what we feel when new information doesn’t fit with what we already know and feel.” This doesn’t just include your brain going “whut?” however – it extends into physical reactions – sleep patterns, appetite, that feeling in the pit of your stomach, heart rate, etc. [it may also explain why the idea that my blog is practically under surveillance right now is making me a little twitchy xD]”

    Stress is more likely, unless you’re holding two conflicting beliefs because of those conversations.

    Stress often causes nausea and shakeyness. It shunts blood from your digestive system to your muscles, so your muscles are pumped up with energy and your non essential inner organs are atrophying.

Leave a Reply

