What To Do When The Library Lacks in Organization – and other thoughts from today

So, Carthage’s library doesn’t use the Dewey Decimal system – the system we all learned as children, y’know?

 

 

My friend Steph provided that video as a reminder of learning how to use a library back in elementary school.

 

Anyway, when you look up a book they don’t give you a number, they tell you to browse the shelves. In the case of the book Sherlock Holmes, it says to browse the “general” section. Problem? I can’t find the general section. Normally, I would go by the dewey decimal system, and just find the shelves that went by author names as opposed to a number system. But no, at Carthage, EVERYTHING is numbered.

And there’s nothing that explains this number system. This weird number system that I don’t even have a name for.

Ugh. It’s so frustrating! I grew up in a library, I do not approve of feeling this uncomfortable in a place full of books!

 

 

On another note, I’ve been thinking a lot about all the hate Valentine’s Day gets.

I think it’s stupid. I mean. People get so pouty and sulky – I’m so single, forever alone, whinebitchwhine,
and then they hate on all the people who have significant others.

What’s the point?

What’s so bad about being single?

I’d rather be single than be with someone I don’t like that much.

Being single simply means I have not found or am not close enough to the person I should be with.

And then there are people who are all “this is my first Valentine’s alone boohoo” or “I’m always alone on Valentine’s, boohoo”
and I’m like “really? Last year was the only year I wasn’t single on Valentine’s, and my boyfriend was in bootcamp.”

 

It’s not like I’ve ever had a real Valentine’s anyway, being as it’s my birthday and all.
But it’s kind of a bummer because most of the people I know get all sulky and whiney,
while I’m all lalaldododo cake&presents cause it’s my birthday.

 

I think there’s something inherent in my generation – something that makes us over worried about relationships. About love and finding someone and finding them NOW. And it eats away at so many young people, causes them to stop looking for their own path in life, and start looking for someone else who’s path they can fit into. And it makes them depressed and sad and totally preoccupied with this unrealistic view of “love.”

 

Sometimes I think I don’t really fit into my generation.

 

I’m gonna go back to watching Avatar and rolling thread now.

 

Peace, Love, and Cake,

Jax

Leave a Reply

