What Do You Need?

Tonight as I said goodbye to my friend Adam, he asked me the same thing he always asks me. Do you need anything?

 

This has been a common question this summer, and I didn’t really think about it until tonight.

 

Do I need anything?

 

But it occurred to me tonight that, if I’m in the process of saying goodbye/goodnight to Adam, I probably don’t. Because one of the few things I feel I actually need, ever,Β is human contact, and saying goodbye means I’ve already had that. I’ve been given a hug (or 12), I’ve chatted a bit, and overall, that’s all I really need.

 

I mean, sure there are things I want, and some things I feel would make my life easier right now. Like a couple more friends who I feel actually care about me and what’s going on in my life. But he’s already given me just that this summer, when I needed it most.

 

And I think it’s funny that he asks me this all the time, because I feel like it’s something I should be asking him, and something that I do ask my friends, all the time. What can I do for you? What do you need?Β And then there’s the general if you need anything let me know.

 

I dunno. I guess it’s just weird for me, having someone ask me what I need. I’m use to being the one trying to figure out what people need. (Not that I’m not doing so with Adam, as I do with everyone I care about. That’s just…a little more complicated that I’m use to. But I’m trying.)

 

My friends’ well being means a lot to me. I generally make it my job to cheer people up, to help people through their problems, and to do everything I can for everyone I care about. I have very high standards as far as being a friend goes. (With Adam, I sometimes worry I’m not doing enough. I don’t always know what to say to him, which is abnormal and difficult for me.)

 

 

On another note, I saw my friend Matthew today, and met his new girlfriend. I was so happy to see him again before leaving the state. I miss that boy.

 

 

My mother is back in my house, things are a little weird. I don’t really feel like going into all the details. So we’ll just stick with things are weird.

 

 

Peace, Love & Pudding,

 

Jax

 

P.S. Am I the only one who thinks pudding cups are WAY too small?

Leave a Reply

